WhatsApp hides your last seen from strangers by default
WhatsApp hides your last seen from strangers by default

WhatsApp introduces a new privacy measure that can hide your last seen status from people you don't know or chat on the app.

Previously, the platform set this feature to everyone by default, so everyone could see your WhatsApp status.

The new platform update limits the visibility of your status to people you add via WhatsApp and sets the function as My Contacts by default.

In a tweet on Twitter, one of the users mentioned that you may no longer be able to check the status of others through the platform.

The tweet also included an email from what appeared to be technical support for the platform describing the new functionality. The email read: "We're making it more difficult for people you don't know and who you don't chat with to see the latest version on WhatsApp."

The "My Contacts Last Seen" option is available. However, this is not the default option for the app. It's also worth noting that the platform also has a people option to prevent all users from seeing your status.

Your status on the chat platform tells other contacts when you were last online or when you were currently using the app.

While this seems like a harmless way to track your friends and family (and vice versa), there have been reports that some third-party apps are taking advantage of this feature.

These apps can track the status of some users, which may allow some people to closely monitor whether others are using the platform.

Your WhatsApp status is hidden from strangers

Activate the "My Contacts" option to prevent third-party apps from saving your online status. Since the app does not belong to your contacts, it cannot see your status.

According to reports, this is not the only change that the description-owned platform made in its latest appearance. WABetaInfo discovered in November that the messaging app had begun testing an option called "Save my contacts..." that would allow users to hide their status from certain contacts.

The platform also improves user privacy by adding the option to make Missing Messaging the default.

Previous Post Next Post